Thread: Noise canceling headphones for Sportjet?

Default Noise canceling headphones for Sportjet?

Has anyone tried a pair of Bose or other noise canceling headphones in order to negate the noise of a Mercury Sportjet 200 engine? My engine seems to have a rhythmic strumming sound to it when I wear regular shooter muffs. I am wondering how a noise canceling headset would work. Or is the engine just too loud for NC headphones to work? What is your experience?

I work as a heavy equipment operator and the bose one's are the only way to go. I haven't used then tho one my sport jet. I will have to get it a try.

Some buddies of mine have used them on their bowpickers, worked great but don't don't like moisture. Have you tried the electronic shooters muffs? they might be more weather resistant.

Alaska Shrimp Pots

Rigid & Folding Shrimp & Crab Pots
    Electra Dyne Pot Haulers
    Ropes, Buoys, Bait
    alaskashrimppots.com
    akshrimppots@mtaonline.net
    907 775 1692

have you taken any steps to quiet your boat down?...if not, i wonder if you could quiet down the boat enough so your regular shooter muffs would work....after I quieted mine down I could chat with my buddy without yelling while cruising at 4900RPM
    ------------------------------------------------
    pull my finger....

I've got a Phantom Sportjon. What did you do to quiet down your boat? I've read mixed reviews on the effectiveness of such action.

I wear shooter muffs now. Works for me. My wife was wondering about noise canceling headphones for her. I was just seeing what other's experience was with them before laying out any $$$.

My copilot and I each have a set and they worked wonderfully running down the Yukon last year for hours on end in a Sportjon/200 opti. I would highly receommend them.