Thread: Black Bear Hunting on Prince Edward Island - Total Newbs from Oklahoma

Default Black Bear Hunting on Prince Edward Island - Total Newbs from Oklahoma

<<Edit>> *wince* Prince of Wales Island rather

Okay, I realize my title may not leave the best first impression - but I'm not going to sugarcoat what I want to do.

My brother & I are planning on working at Glacier Bay over the summer. I had this wild idea of doing some kyaking while we were down there. One thing led to another, and I eventually stumbled across Prince Edward Island. I've done most of my research this afternoon, and it has led me to understand that

A - Non-residents are allowed to hunt black bears without a guide.
    B - Prince Edward Island is open for Black Bear Hunting.
    C - I can fly into Ketchikan, hop over to the Island, rent a Kayak and use cabins the NPS keeps up.

All that said, I'm looking for a good starting point for somebody who has never experienced Alaska. I've done some backpacking in Yellowstone, and I'm pretty fit, (did a 24 hour 52 mile hike a few months ago) - but after being caught on the Teton lake during a storm, I have a whole new level of appreciation for the fact that the elements can kill you if you aren't careful...and from what I've read on Alaska, the elements WILL kill you if you aren't careful.

Anybody here ever done what I'm talking about? Would it be absolutly moronic for somebody who has never experienced Alaska to try to do this?

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

well the good news is that Prince of wales and ketchikan are not....really ... like well,- REAL! Alaska...

they are south east almost Seattle.

but your in-luck we do have a member Kingfisherktn who lives down there in almost AK ketchikan, and that if you PM( private message) him... will set ya right up or at least steer you better.