Thread: Steelhead in Anchorage area?

Default Steelhead in Anchorage area?

Another "just curious" question from a newbie here.

Last month my husband and I were hiking this trail along Eagle River when we decided to cut through a patch of trees to a gravel bar by the river. Water was greenish clear and looked fishy. Saw a couple of old silvers doing their thing. Hubby said he heard somewhere that there are supposedly steelhead in there. Anyone know? Would be nice to fish for them there instead of driving all the way to the peninsula.

Nearest steelies to Anchorage are on the KP.
    The Anchor River, Deep Creek, Kasilof, Ninilchick and there have been reports of strays in the Kenai.
    I think there are some other smaller streams that get a run also.

The best place for Steelhead is to drive to the Airport and fly down to Yakutat this spring! I'm sure there will be people here to vouch! If you decide to come and see us PM me for lodging, guides, boat rentals, etc... I'd love to have you!

Quote Originally Posted by capt.k View Post
    the best place for steelhead is to drive to the airport and fly down to yakutat this spring! I'm sure there will be people here to vouch! If you decide to come and see us pm me for lodging, guides, boat rentals, etc... I'd love to have you!

yup!!! :d

If you saw a couple of old silvers doing there thing then chances are good that there are some dollies or bows lurking around.

Most of the streams running into the Susitna north of Anchortown have some really good rainbow fishing at times. Not steelhead but still a chance at a bow in the upper 20 inch range.

The KP streams mentioned by Drifter are the nearest known steelhead streams in these parts.

Read a report the other day put out by the Feds saying that they have documented steelhead in a drainage that runs into the Kenai River. They counted several hundred that entered this river in the first part of May in each of the previous two years. Kind of cool to learn this.