Thread: DC001 with Snowmachines

Default DC001 with Snowmachines

This year I drew a caribou tag for GMU 7. Is there a particular area the Caribou tend to frequent this time of year? We will be using snowmachines for transportation during the hunt. I am thinking of starting at Hope and going towards the Devils Pass area. This is my first time hunting this area so any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Blade Dude

Default good luck

i believe the herd winters around american pass, at one time it was known as the "american pass" herd.
    Alaska Board of Game 2015 tour... "Kicking the can down the road"
    http://www.alaskabackcountryhunters.org/

I too would focus on the western high country of the trail, somewhere around.....yep, American Pass. Go prepared and watch the snow conditions. Good luck!
    http://www.cnfaic.org/

Last time I had a sit down with the ADFG biologist in Soldotna he said not a single person had been successful in hunting this herd in December by snowmachine. My wife drew this hunt 3 years ago. They must come down near the trail though because two winters ago a friend and myself found blood, 4 lower legs and wolf beds right on the trail in the snow while going for a ride from Cooper Landing to Hope.

So let us know! You could be the first! Most commonly the problem stated is the lack of a base for the snow.

Default Saturday

I am going in on saturday morning.. Right as the sun is comming up so I can barely see.. heading in their and spotting them.. then using the snowmobile to close the distance to an adjacent ridge.. Taking the .243 with lots of rounds in case I see some predators.. if I dont see any caribou, then I can do some calling way back in their for some coyotes, wolves and maybe a kitty

What do you think would be the best option.. go in from hope or Coopers landing?

i think hope would be a better bet
    Alaska Board of Game 2015 tour... "Kicking the can down the road"