I know that boots get a lot of discussion on here so I thought I would post a little info on a purchase I just received.

After many years of use and abuse my Lowa Tibets finally needed to be replaced. I did researched a bit and asked a few questions on this forum and a few others. I wanted something a bit taller and ended up getting the Lowa Sheep Hunter. Nearly every time I had water go over the tops of the Tibets and soaking the inside, it seems like those extra couple of inches height these have would have been the difference in preventing it. Plus my job requires that I wear a boot of a certain height and the Tibets were right on the edge of that standard.

I am a full-time wildland firefighter and these will replace my Tibets as my work/fire boots for summer fun in the AK woods. I used to wear the traditional White's boots that most firefighters wear, but I got tired of my feet feeling like crap after a long day on my feet. I switched over to the not-so-traditional Lowas a few seasons ago and will never go back. Plus, the Lowas have way more ankle support than those old White's. I pretty much wore the same pair of Tibets for everything else outside of work - cutting firewood, hunting, hiking, heading to the grocery store. Needless to say they will get a workout and a few miles on them in the future.