Thread: Osprey vs Sea Sport

Default Osprey vs Sea Sport

To me the Osprey looks a little more rough water friendly than the Sea Sport. I'm looking at a 24' Osprey, and also a 27' Sea Sport. Obviously the Sea Sport is more money, but given the sea worthy reputation of the Osprey, does the extra 3' of the Sea Sport make that much difference? Or does 3' make that much difference in any kind of a boat? It would usually be 2, max 4 people fishing. The Osprey has a 5.7L Mericruiser, and the Sea Sport a Volvo diesel. I know I am getting a good "deal" on the Osprey, as it comes with downriggers, pot puller, Wallas diesel stove, etc., but haven't seen the particulars on the Sea Sport yet.

Getting a better boat is more important than the money. I am new to ocean boating, so was thinking also that learning the ropes in the Osprey would be wise, and figure out if I want more from there (maybe someday a big old Glacier Craft). The diesel is a big draw for the Sea Sport, though. Thanks for your time.

I previously owned a 26' Osprey with the long cabin, and currently own a 30' SeaSport Voyager.

First, you should know that SeaSport bought out Osprey several years ago, and currently builds both lines of boats.

IMHO, the fit and finish on the SeaSports is a little better, but otherwise two lines of boats are pretty much on a par.

Both lines of boats are very sturdy and seaworthy.

But the two boats you've mentioned are definitely apples and oranges. Depending on which SeaSport 27 you're talking about, the Seasport's additional three feet in length will either give you considerably more cockpit space for fishing, or considerably more cabin space for cruising. Also, since the SeaSport's bigger and heavier, it will probably give you a better ride.