Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best all-around binoculars on a budget

Default Best all-around binoculars on a budget

So, here's the deal. I'm new to Alaska and to hunting, but I'm looking forward to learning, black bear and/or moose being my goal this upcoming year. As I'm beginning to gear up, I'm in search of a decent pair of all-around hunting binoculars. After reading through some previous threads, it seems as though you generally get what you pay for when it comes to optics, but I only have $200 available for my first set considering all the other gear I still need. So, I was wondering if anyone with more knowledge/experience than me might have a recommendation as to what would be the most bang for my buck. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Quote Originally Posted by akgreenhorn View Post
    So, here's the deal. I'm new to Alaska and to hunting, but I'm looking forward to learning, black bear and/or moose being my goal this upcoming year. As I'm beginning to gear up, I'm in search of a decent pair of all-around hunting binoculars. After reading through some previous threads, it seems as though you generally get what you pay for when it comes to optics, but I only have $200 available for my first set considering all the other gear I still need. So, I was wondering if anyone with more knowledge/experience than me might have a recommendation as to what would be the most bang for my buck. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
    Why not waiting a few months to save another $200.00 or so? I just bought a set of Leupold Olympic 8x42 binocular that is very nice. It's fog and water proof, and has a rubber armor. It's sort of tan or ivory color (not my favorite), but it's bright and sharp. It was on sale, so I paid less than $400.00.