Thread: Wood River-Fairbanks Area

Default Wood River-Fairbanks Area

I'm new to float hunting,,, I read Mikes book about 4 times...Have chosen the wood river for a 2010 hunt with my son, and brother...Fly in with wright air at the Kansas ck. float to the Japan hills...I understand we will have company and that"s ok....I have topo maps and aerial maps but would like some personal experience help...maybe some tech river stuff,,,ie classification,videos,, hazards,pictures,conditions, and so forth..We will be running a 16ft Aire cat,(Thanks Mike for the advice),and a Pro-pioneer,(My sons choice of boat).We will only have two moose tags,as one of us will just be a boat person.I would be willing to call someone and chat if anyone cares to do that....I would like this to be a memorable time for my son in particular as it will be his graduation present...any takers???

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL

This will piggyback just for your info. but..How badly was the Wood river area effected by the fire? Those of you that hunted it should chime in, I don' think I've seen too much info on this.
    We do not go to the green woods and crystal waters to rough it, we go to smooth it. We get it rough enough at home; in towns and cities; in shops, offices, stores, banks anywhere that we may be placed

Thumbs up

Hey TWB,,,
    According to the biologist the fire was not in the area we will be in....hope to see you on the river,,,I'll help ya get that new Boone/Crockett out to your boat

Quote Originally Posted by Rackum View Post
    Hey TWB,,,
    According to the biologist the fire was not in the area we will be in....hope to see you on the river,,,I'll help ya get that new Boone/Crockett out to your boat
    I won't be on the Wood River this year but I will be floatin a river somewhere for them. Seems harvest from the Wood River was pretty good this past season, though.