Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rainbow trout patterns

Default Rainbow trout patterns

Hi guys.

Im not new to ice fishing, (this being my 4th season) but im new to chasing rainbows. Typically I have noticed in the fall that they tend to school up and cruise the shallows looking for any scraps they can find. So far this year my success rate has been sporadic at best. What am i doing wrong. Do these fish congregate in deep holes on the lakes or do they continue the schooling pattern found in the late fall. I am typically going out 25 ft from shore and punching a few holes and just fishing them. I'm trying to stay in the 5-10 range of water. As a kid i know we'd fish deeper water for trout but it seems everything ive learned about trout fishing has changed since coming up here.

Thanks

Trout come and go. If your there when they are, chances are they will bite. If I catch 1 trout per hour or 2 im doing good. The only places that have real hot trout fishing are places where they are small and abundant.
    "Ya can't stop a bad guy with a middle finger and a bag of quarters!!!!"- Ted Nugent.

Default Rainbow Trout

I like to fish 8-12 feet of water. Fishing areas that have weeds growing off of the bottom and sticking up 1'-2' .
    Don't be afraid to drill a lot of holes to find fish on some days. 24 - 36 is not uncommon for me if the fish are really moving around and are being finicky.
    On my favorite lakes I might only drill 2 holes and fish them all day if I know I am in a good spot.
    Look for holes drilled by others. Look for holes with blood in the snow around them. You might also find bits of left over bait around them and try the same baits if you have any.
    Last time I went I fished first light till noon and picked up 24+ before I called it quits(Rainbows and Kokanees). First 1/2 hour I got 8-10 then it slowed down. Drilled only two holes.
    First and last light are always best.