Thread: Float hunt?

Default Float hunt?

For all of you guys that have been on a few float hunts, what seem to be the better float for success:

Fly in and float out to a road system?

Or fly in and float and then be picked up by air?

I am assuming that the second one would be better due to expenses taking some of the hunters away, but can you be just as successful on the other float trip?

And how many miles of river do you guys usually float on a 10 day hunt?
    Do you like to have a base camp for a few days and then float down one day and hunt for a few? Or do you prefer to float everyday and hunt from mostly the river?

I am planning a moose/caribou hunt, with moose as my primary target and the caribou as a bonus, I am just looking for some info from the guys who have done this kind of hunt ( I am new to float hunting) Thanks for any help.

Default Oh open door

I would be suprised to find this does not get Mega repsonses. One thing you will have to remember it all comes down to personal preference and what has worked for some will not work for others.

I am still a firm believer if you do your home work you can have a decent successful hunt going with a fly in and a take out to a road system however for some this is not the best option.

10 days IMO does limit your hunting dependiing on the location of your fly in if in fact your coming out to a road system however as with anything options options options location location location.

Combo hunts to start off with may not be your best option for an initial float hunt you might consider targeting one type of animal.