Thread: Can I safely switch primers?

Default Can I safely switch primers?

I'm new to reloading and my buddy has been helping me out with it, but I have a question.

First off, I am loading Nosler 240 grain JHP with 23 grains of H110 for BOTH .44 handgun & rifle. Nosler data indicates to use large pistol primers for handgun. Nosler (at least I couldn't find it) didn't have rifle data. Hodgdon powder recommended the same primer in their rifle loading data.

Speer (and Sierra, I believe) recommended large pistol magnum primers for their 240g jhp's.

Nosler/Speer/Sierra/Hogdon all recommend loads of about 20.8-24 grains of H110 for handgun/rifle.

Here's my question: Am I going to kill myself if I go ahead and use magnum primers with Nosler 240g jhp and 23 grains of H110? I actually want to load 10-12 or each (magnum and non-magnum) and chrono them. I'm assuming I'd get better performance from the magnum primers.

Thanks for reading my long winded post!

Tim

Changing ignition is a time-honored method of trying to improve accuracy, and at some point in their reloading career most folks will do it either out of accident, curiosity or necessity.

That being said; when I intentionally change primers, I always drop the loads back about half-way between where it currently sits and the minimum and then work my way up. In your case that means dropping from your current 23gr to about 21.4gr and building back up. At minimum loads I'll substitue any same-sized primer (LPM for LP, CCI for Federal, etc) and not worry about it, working up the load development like I would with a wildcat cartridge.