Thread: What are the effects of Cold weather on animals?

Default What are the effects of Cold weather on animals?

How does the extreme cold effect different animals? I am really interested in how temps below -20 effect fur and game animals, such as moose, caribou, wolves, lynx and so on.

Do they hunker down and wait out the low temps for a while and only venture out and about when hunger drives them or does it have no effect? If it does effect their movements; at what temp does it effect them and for what critter?

In the reverse; does a spike in warmer temps get animals up and moving?

I know these might sound like noobie questions, but I have no experience hunting in such extreme temps.

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

well the large animals tend to hole up in an area with browse and will feed in that area and not expend a lot of energy while the predators will do the same the colder it gets the better the calling is because they are HUNGRY!!!

a warm spike will in fact make every thing move about after a sever cold snap. new feeding areas to be found before the next snap i in the interior they tend t pull up the hills and get above the inversion layer to find warmer air to bed in. we can in-fact have 30 degrees warmer up high then along the rivers and flats.

spring time is the time to be very aware of the cow moose and such.. as the weather warms the snow gets more difficult to navigate, they have lost the fat reserves and are grumpy...
    "If you are on a continuous search to be offended, you will always find what you are looking for; even when it isn't there."

meet on face book here

Default Cold Animals

I am not sure what they all do but I will tell you that up around the Fairbanks area a lot of the moose will head up in the hills (highground). I know that this sounds odd but believe it or not it is sometimes as much as 15 to 20 degrees warmer at the higher elevations.

Thumbs up