Thread: Learning how to hunt.

Default Learning how to hunt.

Hey guys Im new to hunting here in AK. I really want to learn. I understand that I need to just get out there and look for the critters. Read about the habitat they live in. Get out and look for critters. Take care of my fire arm. Get out and look for critters. ect... However I need to learn what to do with the critter when i kill it. So here is my question.. If anyone has any game that has yet to be cleaned Ill do it if you show me how!

cammer - There are several good books and videos that could help you get started. I recommend you do that, and also make sure you get a hard copy of the hunting regs and read them very carefully, a few times. They can be kind of confusing at first since there lots of obscure rules depending on which area you're hunting in, but you should deffinitely make sure you're not doing anything wrong.

Nothing worse for a new hunter than to get in trouble with F&G. I would recommend starting with small game like grouse and rabbits. These animals are easy to hunt and easy to dress. A good way to get started. Good luck and have fun!

The other 299,300,000 people can have it.

Noone has a more intimate understanding of, or deeper appreciation for freedom, than a soldier who has fought for it in a country where it does not exist.

Default Field dressing hares...

Pretty helpful thread:
    http://forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/...ad.php?t=66230

Good luck getting out.

I'm seriously considering doing a hare dressing slide show. Next time I go out for predators, I might bag another hare just to do the slide show.
    Finally, Brad Childress is GONE!

Default new to hunting

Though I'm not from Alaska, expirence has taught me this .
    Never go it alone ,unless you are so familliar with the teritory and the wild and that it is rutine business.