Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Alaska Handgun Laws for MD Resident

Default Alaska Handgun Laws for MD Resident

Hey everyone,

I'm an 18-year-old Maryland resident, and I'm planning on spending my summer in Alaska trekking and climbing (mostly solo). I would feel safer with a handgun, but I'm wondering if it's possible for me to purchase or carry a handgun at my age. From the little research I've done, I've found the following things.

1. In Maryland, you need to be 21 to purchase and license a handgun. Sounds pretty standard.

2. In Alaska, you only need to be 18 to purchase, and you don't need a license to carry.

If both of those are correct, then my next question is, are state laws applied by state of purchase or by state of residence? In other words, could I simply purchase a handgun when I get to Alaska? If so, is there any way I could bring the gun back to Maryland with me?

Thanks for your help!

Knox

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

sorry knox; 21 for handguns in AK also...18 for long guns.
    Quote Originally Posted by Knox View Post
    Hey everyone,

I'm an 18-year-old Maryland resident, and I'm planning on spending my summer in Alaska trekking and climbing (mostly solo). I would feel safer with a handgun, but I'm wondering if it's possible for me to purchase or carry a handgun at my age. From the little research I've done, I've found the following things.

1. In Maryland, you need to be 21 to purchase and license a handgun. Sounds pretty standard.

2. In Alaska, you only need to be 18 to purchase, and you don't need a license to carry.

If both of those are correct, then my next question is, are state laws applied by state of purchase or by state of residence? In other words, could I simply purchase a handgun when I get to Alaska? If so, is there any way I could bring the gun back to Maryland with me?

Thanks for your help!

Knox