Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ice depth and hand augers?

Default Ice depth and hand augers?

Just out of curiosity, how deep does the ice get in the interior, and how long would it take to drill a hole through it with a hand auger?

I just bought a hand auger and went out yesterday. The ice was 7 inches and it took less than two minutes to go through. I am told if you keep your blades sharp and dry them off for storage they will last a good while. I am new to this ice fishing stuff but was very impressed with the hand auger.

George

Quote Originally Posted by whitewolf2025 View Post
    Just out of curiosity, how deep does the ice get in the interior, and how long would it take to drill a hole through it with a hand auger?
    In the interior? Well there was 4 feet of ice on Big Lake down here in South Central last February last time I went Ice fishing. I didn't have an extension so I was done for the season. I wouldn't want to hand auger more than a foot unless your only drilling one or two holes.
    Finally, Brad Childress is GONE!

I'm not in the interior but in Yellowknife we get interior type weather.
    Last year at the end of the season on one of my go to lakes I drilled through 64" of ice. Good thing the winter wasn't any longer because I was at the limit of an 18" extension plus I had to drill several inches down on either side of my hole to make clearance for my auger handles to get the last couple of inches.

Look at it this way, after Christmas dinner its a free weight loss program.

You do a couple of holes at 3-4' your going to take a break, 7" is just the start.

Young mans tool.

A hand auger is surprisingly fast if you keep it sharp and replace the blades every so often.

I prefer it for fishing before New Year's because I don't have to horse around with a cranky 2-stroke power unit. For spring fishing? It's out of its league- you'd need a 3' extension and it would take forever...

Mine will go 48" and I've bottomed it in late Jan.

Talking