Thread: Thompson/Center

Default Thompson/Center

First of all, Happy Thanksgiving to everyone!
    I just put in for a draw to hunt deer on Lanai for a black powder hunt; I'm a newbie to hunting and thinking of getting a Thompson/Center Encore for a firearm. We have a back-up plan to hunt private land and if that happens, it's open to high power rifle (hence my desire to get a versatile gun, to take 2 different barrels).
    Anyone have opinions on this Encore? Not sure exactly what alternate barrel to get if we go high power hunting, something .270 or similar? The Axis deer are not large and long distance shooting is not mandatory; may not even scope it. I guess I should check to see what common ammo is available locally as that will determine course of action but I've seen .243, .270, .308, 30-30, 30-06 for sure here.
    Just looking for some feedback on the above!
    Thanks,
    Jim

I boguht a Encore with a 209x50 muzzleloading barrell on it. This barrell will not shoot right, large groups. I called T.C. and told them what the barrell was doing and what I had done to get it to shoot and they told me to send it back to them and they would fix or replace it. No problems! I have a 7mm Rem. Mag Barrell that shoots real good. Also have a contender in 7-30 Waters that does good.
    I have had a lot of dealings with T.C. guns over the years and this is the first problem I have encountered. When I called about the barrell the customer service was first class. I actually got to talk to somebody fast. Explained the problem, guy said no problem we will take care of it. Would be nice if a lot of other companies would take care of there customers like T.C. does.

Default TC Encore