Thread: Grouse info

Default Grouse info

Where are the grouse? I don't mean where do I need to go I mean where do they go in the winter time? I went hunting yesterday and didn't see one. This particular trail always delivers but I didn't see any. Are there signs to look for? I am new to grouse hunting. The few grouse I have got were just sitting on the trail. I would like to know some tips for finding them when they are not sitting on the trail. Any advice would be appreciated.

Default In the woods

If you didnt see them on the trail.. they were probably in the woods.. Usually 1-200 yards off, sititng in a spruce tree or under it.. Grouse actually get pounded pretty hard by people trail and road hunting as they tend to fly down before dark and eat some gravel.. also in the early morning too.. then they spend all day just wandering around eating.. they usually see you comming and HOLD still like a hair relying on their camo to conceal them.. My advice is to go slow.. and methodically pick apart the woods.. scanning.. and soon enough you will find em.. then hang in groups of 2-4 usually..

Anyday in the woods is better than a day at work.. and not all sucess is measure by what you bring home..

Sprucies will be in spruce this time of year. It takes a trained eye to spot them too!

Ruffies will be in one of the ruffed grouse territory, (research this, no freebies here!) For them you will need to search out draws with thick brush in them. I am not sure what the particular type of tree is but it grows really thick and has little seed pods that the birds eat. The birds hide EXTREMELY well in this terrain!!

Wink

This is the poorest year for Grouse of all kinds, that I can remember. No hatch this spring and few adults survived the onslaught from the foxes and yotes. Better off to hunt some predators and leave the few remaining grouse for seed in the coming years.
    "96% of all Internet Quotes are suspect and the remaining 4% are fiction."
    ~~Abraham Lincoln~~