Thread: Ex MN Ag Pilot interested in moving to AK

Default Ex MN Ag Pilot interested in moving to AK

Any advice on how to get a foot in the door flying and what areas have good modified Jeep wheeling and mountain climbing snowmobiling spots?

I have about 5000 tt COM/INST SEL, 4000 ag from S. Texas to N ND/Mn (1500 turbine), champ, cub & super cub (wheels & ski) C-180 & Pa36-300 towing a glider, C-210, C-182, C-172

I am a farm kid from Minnesota. I graduated from the U of Mn Crookston with BS in Agronomy w/ minor in Aviation.

Most of time spent flying in TX panhandle to S Rockies in the summer and snowmobiling in West Yellowstone in the winters.

Alot of it in Alaska is walking in the door at the right time. It seems hard to get hired up here without AK time and just sending up a resume. However, once you get a some AK time things can get pretty easy in some locations.

If I were you, I would talk to the chief pilots at Hageland Aviation and Grant Aviation. They are bigger operators in Bethel with outlying bases in the vicinity, and they always seem to need pilots. The pay is just ok, and I know Hageland provides housing for a nominal fee while you work your 2 weeks. Think Grant is 20 on, 10 off, and not sure about housing.

As for Bethel- some like it, some hate it. It is not exactly postcard gorgeous. Off the road system, so plenty of snowmachining, maybe some hill climbing, I would think very little 4x4 offroading.

Trying to work out of Anchorage is harder- that's where many pilots want to live, which turns Anc into something of a senior base. PLus, not that much single-engine wheelplane stuff here. However, if you have some twin time you could check into PenAir. They might take a look at you for right seat in one of their twins.

Good luck!
    Doug

Default $

Better not have any bills.

And have a wife with a good job.