Thread: Instruction in Soldotna/Kenai

Default Instruction in Soldotna/Kenai

How about instruction in the Soldotna/Kenai area? Anyone with 1st hand experience with Alaska Flying Network (Kenai)? There website is nice, but appears under construction. There contact email wasn't functioning last time I tried it.

Default Soldotna

A friend of mine did some training with Dean Eicholz in Soldotna and was very impressed. I have no experience with him though.
    Good Luck

My impression, which could be wrong, is that Dean sold the Alaska Flying Network business. Not sure who runs it now, or if Dean still does basic instruction.

Examiner Dean Eichholtz used to own Alaska flying network years ago.
    He then sold it to Master Instructor Chip Vershaw who shut it down over the last year or so. For some bizarre reason Chip did not sell it as a business, but instead sold everything off piece meal...He now flies part 135 and 121 stuff.

Dean still does some instruction and he is a FAA designated examiner. I use him for check-rides for my clients. Dean also runs the Falcon aviation insurance office in Soldotna.

Some of the guys who used to work for Chip still do some instructing.

PLUS::: Missionary Aviation Repair Center at the Soldotna airport (MARC in the phone book) used to do instruction as well and they may still do so.

Dean would know who to use in the Kenai or Soldotna areas.

If you were closer to Homer, we could do something from here...

Do you have your own plane or will you be a renter? I guess if you had your own, (how I did it many years ago) then you could do it with somebody further away, like Homer since much of the time is required solo flight...hmmmm
    Floatplane,Tailwheel and Firearms Instructor- Dragonfly Aero
    Experimental Hand-Loader, NRA Life Member
    http://site.dragonflyaero.com

Kenai pen, in summer. Matsu vally in winter