Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shotgun or Rifle for Predator Hunting

Question Shotgun or Rifle for Predator Hunting

What is your primary firearm when calling predators? I'm not very experienced in calling, but up to this point I've always carried a .223 afield. After reading about MNViking's lynx, though, I'm wondering if I wouldn't be better off with a 12 gauge at times. My guess is that it is dictated by location - if hunting an open area, go with the rifle, while a shotgun would be ideal for thick woods - but I'm curious as to what folks on here normally do. On that note, when you are successful in calling in a critter, at what distance do you normally first spot your target?

I have always used my 22-250 but have hunted with guys that used a 12ga with dead coyote hevishot. The last fox I shot was about 30yds well within shotgun range. I guess its personal preferance and I like a rifle for those longer shots

I think it depends on weather you plan to sell the hides or not

So far I've been going with a friend to try and learn a bit. With two of us, we usually have one shotgun and one rifle. If I was alone, I think I'd consider carrying both.

If you do use a shotgun, 00 buck does a lot of damage. My taxidermy buddy is going to survey the damage when it thaws tonight and I'll let you know how bad it is.
    Finally, Brad Childress is GONE!

Not planning to sell the hides, and am asking the question with the assumption that I will do most of my calling solo. While it would be nice to carry both, I'll be walking in to my calling locales 95% of the time and thus would be reluctant to carry both firearms.

I'm thinking about getting a TC Encore to make it easier to carry both if I'm alone. Otherwise, I'd just stick with the rifle. I'd hate to not have enough range.
    Finally, Brad Childress is GONE!

BOTH.... I use depending on my mood...either of the following. MY .243, 30-06, 22-250, 25-06 and I always take a 12 gauge with.

Default savage over/under