Thread: I need some help

Default I need some help

helllo there.
    I'm a rookie in snowshoeing and I need an advice about models and sizes of snow shoes. I want to get myself a decent pair (perhaps several - for some friends of mine).
    I mostly travel on rather wet snow about 50-80 cm deep and on slopes angled 20 to 30 deg. also, I want it really durable.
    I want to get all around model - would 25 inch cover me?
    in terms of strentgh - should I go for an msr denali's (or similar) or somthing with alu frame?

thanks in advance
    lior

Quote Originally Posted by liorhort View Post
    helllo there.
    I'm a rookie in snowshoeing and I need an advice about models and sizes of snow shoes. I want to get myself a decent pair (perhaps several - for some friends of mine).
    I mostly travel on rather wet snow about 50-80 cm deep and on slopes angled 20 to 30 deg. also, I want it really durable.
    I want to get all around model - would 25 inch cover me?
    in terms of strentgh - should I go for an msr denali's (or similar) or somthing with alu frame?

thanks in advance
    lior
    Depends on your weight and the maker of the shoe. All of the snowshoe makers have weight tables that you should be able to use. Just remember to factor in some weight for your pack! My siblings got me a size too small several years ago because they went with what my weight was on a good day .

btw: 25" seems small unless you only weigh 140 (65 kilos).

-Gr
    My signature is awesome.

I'm 6'0" and 175lbs, and I like 30" snowshoes for day-to-day use and 36" shoes for deep snow, light snow, or when carrying weight on my back.