Thread: Ruger 77/44 stainless bolt?

Default Ruger 77/44 stainless bolt?

Does anyone have any experience with this rifle? Was it accurate, has any taken any game with it or any 44 mag rifle? I am thinking of getting it for my 7 yr son for his first deer gun. I figure it would work great on black tail but how about caribou or even moose?
    Thanks in advance.
    http://www.ruger-firearms.com/produc...744/index.html

Quote Originally Posted by Ak Fireman View Post
    Does anyone have any experience with this rifle? Was it accurate, has any taken any game with it or any 44 mag rifle? I am thinking of getting it for my 7 yr son for his first deer gun. I figure it would work great on black tail but how about caribou or even moose?
    Thanks in advance.
    http://www.ruger-firearms.com/produc...744/index.html
    I've no experience with that particular model, but Ruger guns are generally well built and very functional. I've used the 44 for whitetail deer hunting and it is a good cartridge for deer within it's range limitations. I'd have no reservations with it for blacktails or 'bou at appropriate ranges. It will absolutely kill moose with the right bullet and proper shot placement, but it would not be among my first choices. It's great advantage, especially for a young shooter, is the ability to shoot it a lot for little $. You can save even more $ if you reload for it.

IMO for deer most jacketed bullets 240 grains and heavier will work fine. For 'bou and even bigger critters I would stay with 300+ grain lead bullets designed for hunting.

Default neat

I really don't have experience with that firearm. My go-to rifle is a m-77 and it is one durable and well loved iron. I think my daughter would like having that particular firearm.

I'm interested.....thats for sure.

northern n.y. and much of the eastern U.S.

Default That's a tight lookin' rig..!

The 44 Mag in a rifle is a real "sleeper."