Thread: winter king derby

Default winter king derby

Ok I can't wait any longer to start asking questions on this topic it is less than 4 months away.
    Who here on the sight fishes the winter king derby in Homer? it lookes like a good time. I know nothing about any of it so any info as to where to fish? do you use down riggers? what bait :] I pretty much am a total newbie with it but would like to hook up with some one to learn the ways of the fishermans force. I have my own boat so at least I do have that much. It has 2 cannon digital down riggers that I have never used. By the way my boat is pretty much a new purchase to me I sold my bayliner for the new craft. It seems to be a nice little boat I just want to try new things with it. I have spent 2 years playing around seward so now I am looking to expand to new fishing, boating adventures and this may be the first this year. http://homeralaska.org/kingsalmon/king-salmon.htm so anyone out there :]

Default derby

Most people use downriggers and herring. But seeing that there is big bucks in this tournament that's all I'm saying. :-)
    Probably won't get much out of anyone else either...

Question

Seawolf pm me and I'll give you the basic set-ups, depths and locations for fishing Salmon in Homer.
    Frank
    Alaska Wildrose Charters and Cabins
    www.wildroselodge.com

Default ok i'm ready

Ok i'm dragging up my old post and i'm ready. Me and my daughter are going to be there to slay and have fun. it is a bit early for me to bring out my boat as I'm pretty new to all this so I'm looking for a charter boat or what ever to be a part of. I may even have one other willing to go but not for sure right now but as for me and the kid we are in it is my 2 weeks off from the slope. So if anyone needs spots filled please let me know b4 monday as i'm off for the slope for 3 weeks then.

Smile Little help please