Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Shotgun or Handgun for bear protection?

Default Shotgun or Handgun for bear protection?

Not sure if this has been covered in this forum before, but I have been up here for almost 4 years now and I have somehow gotten by without owning any sort of firearm. Every bear encounter I have had the bear either took off in the opposite direction or completely ignored me. That being said, I got a gut feeling that I may not be so lucky in the future. I am debating between a large caliber revolver (such as a .454) or a shotgun. Here are the pros and cons of each as I see it:

Handgun:

Pro: easier to pack, easier to carry, quicker to draw
    Cons: not as much stopping power as a shotgun. Recoil can make it harder to aim. More expensive

Shotgun:

Pro: More stopping power, easier to aim and shoot, cheaper
    Con: More difficult to carry and pack, slower to draw

I have some experience with firearms but I am not a pro like a lot of guys on this forum, so what do you think?

You are going to have to spend a lot of time practicing with your pistol to be effective against a charging bear. I say go with the shot gun. There are models out there that are very short and portable. I saw some in Walmart the other day not much bigger than some of the really big pistols. I carried a .44 Mag for bears up here for 2 years until I had a close encounter with a brown bear near Hope. I did not have to shoot the bear to change its mind but I made up my mind right then and there that I was not comfortable with just a pistol. I sold my .44 and bought a short barrel .45-70. I usually carry that or one of my shotguns with slugs now. Pistols can be effective with a lot of practice but when it comes to saving your life in a shot or 2 I'd put my money on the 12 guage. This is just my opinion so take it for what it is worth.