Thread: canoe for off-river ponds?

Thumbs up canoe for off-river ponds?

Looking for a canoe for moose hunting on ponds that lie in the marshes that border many Interior rivers....

Size....14' to 16'...?
    Weight...50# to 65#....
    Material...Royalex (plastic)....fiberglass or Kevlar are not as rugged and too pricey...besides may want to use boat as sled to haul, rather than carry, meat across marsh and bogs...?
    Maker - model - availability in Alaska...?
    Experience...?

Thanks.

Rick,

I have no moose hunting experience, but I have a lot of canoeing and deer hunting experience. After an exhaustive search for the best hunting and fishing canoe, I bought a Sportspal canoe a few years ago. See link below.

http://www.castlecraft.us/sportspal_square-stern.htm

If you're going to be hauling heavy loads like game animals, meat and gear, you need a canoe that is easy to steer and hard to capsize. That's the Sportspal. I bought the square stern model so I could easily add a motor if necessary. However, I have never used a motor with this rig. I enjoy traveling light and quietly and I like the exercise and romance of paddling. I have had great times with this canoe on fishing and hunting trips in Michigan. The canoe is made of aluminum and I think you will be impressed by the stability of this rig. I paid about $600 but prices will likely range from $600 to $750 depending on your area. I bought the S-13, 13 foot model and it weighs 57 lbs with a 625 pound capacity.
    A man is rich in proportion to the number of things he can afford to let alone. - Henry David Thoreau

Thumbs up off-river pond canoe....

What I'm trying to figure out is which canoe to buy for the following:
    Hauling beside and behind - in the narrow places - my 19' Grumman to my hunt area...
    Portage the smaller boat over the bank and onto the moosey ponds that dot that area...
    Have any of you done this? Suggestions and experiences appreciated....

Default Hunting Canoes in Alaska