Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Alaska Mental Health Trust Land -- NO TRESPASSING

Angry Alaska Mental Health Trust Land -- NO TRESPASSING

So I'm looking into a goat hunt with open registration permits in Unit 6...

Find a likely spot and do some I.T. recon of the area.

Check Alaska Airlines. They are a go.

Check with a flight service in Yakutat... BRICK WALL AHEAD!

It seems that most of the accessible parts of the hunt in question are wrapped up in Alaska Mental Health Trust. Wouldn't be a problem BUT...

It's leased to a guide for GUIDED HUNTS ONLY.

SO, AS AN ALASKA RESIDENT, I AM LOCKED OUT OF STATE LAND WITH NO HOPE FOR ACCESS UNTIL THE LEASE RUNS OUT!!!

"Whiskey, Tango, Foxtrot", OVER!!!

Feds locking us out. Natives locking us out. NOW, the STATE is locking us out!!

This is getting HOPELESS!

Taylor

Thumbs down

http://www.mhtrustland.org/documents...08_closure.pdf

Here's a copy of the closure letter.

What next, fellas?

Taylor

Thats f'n horse ****. Common sense tells me that the average Joe has right to an area, BEFORE a guide. Equitable reacharound...you pay me, I give you monopoly.
    We do not go to the green woods and crystal waters to rough it, we go to smooth it. We get it rough enough at home; in towns and cities; in shops, offices, stores, banks anywhere that we may be placed

I wonder who that guide might be? Name begin with Sam.......

I thought Fejiland started west of there...could be wrong tho..

BS, regardless....wonder what the fee for leasing MHT land is. I know of a bunch I'd sure like to lock up...sad...

Thumbs down

I spoke with the Guide. He was polite and courteous. He stated that even HE couldn't hunt the land, nor can his Assistant Guides. Therefore, the state must be getting a portion of the Guide Fees as well?

SO, If you ask the question... "Is there land in Alaska that only a Non-Resident can hunt?" The answer is YES.

Taylor

Thumbs down