Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: can someone please put me on some fish, please.

Default can someone please put me on some fish, please.

okay, i'm brand new to the anchorage area. i've been cruising all over the anchorage area fishing; sheep creek, eklunta lake, ship creek, campbell creek, and bird creek. only at campbell creek was i able to hook up and it was an accitdental foul hook. can someone please tell me a good lake or stream that i can go to and catch a few fish. i've been thinking about trying out mirror lake or otter laker here on post. any ideas about those. i know that fishing is out of season to most. but a few people and articles in the paper suggest that rainbows are feeding aggressively this time of year. i guess with winter coming, they want to fattin up before things freeze over. this isn't my first time fishing for trout, but any strategies and suggestions are appreciated. it was suggested to purchase the book "highway angler". it has been my starting refference point, and has some good information. but it doesn't tell all.

here's a couple pics of the salmon i pulled out of campbell creek. it was right there off of piper st. i walked out on the deck and looked over and there they were. i through up stream and drifted a rooster tail right in front of them. when he went to hit the current pushed the line straight into his pectoral fin. i hate foul hooks, makes me nervous that that's the time that the ranger is gonna show up.

salmon 4.jpg

salmon 3.jpg

I greatly appreciate any input and advice!

uhhhh.. uhh read the regulations..... see what they say... especially about salmon.

http://www.sf.adfg.state.ak.us/Stati...ral/SCanch.pdf

If you cant stand behind the troops in Iraq.. Feel free to stand in front of them.

That link won't open.