Thread: Our first rabbit!

Default Our first rabbit!

My dog and I have been out for rabbits quite a few times in the past 3 winters. She doesn't handle the cold really well but manages. She loves to bunny hunt and pretty much every trip kicks them up, but I fail to spot them fast enough to shoot. She is very good about going in the thick and nasty, part of why I have a hard time spotting and shooting. Today it all worked out!
    Was off the seward highway. Had seen rabbit here before out hiking. Cool thing about my dog is she only barks when she sees game, weather it is bears or rabbits. She started her barking thing about 7 or 8 times today. Might have been the rabbit I shot just giving us the run around, not sure. Covered a lot of ground though. I saw one that she never did at first, she eventually caught the scent and went nuts, she only barks if fresh scent or she sees and critter. Cool thing is she is self taught!
    So it was starting to rain harder and was headed for the car. She dove in the brush and sure enough started barking. This time though the rabbit curved to cross the trail and I nailed it. Been here 14.5 years and got my first ak bunny!
    Used a benelli super nova with 3 3/4 dram 1-1/8oz #6 shot. Found one pellet under the hide on the far side of hind leg. The shot went through both legs with hardly any blood shot, bones were shattered pretty badly though. 6 pellet holes what I counted in the hind legs, others broke the lower joints and feet.
    I let the dog finish off the rabbit, bad idea, should have known from the other 2 rabbits she has killed in town-released ones on the bike trail. She crushed the ribs and ruptured the internals, no punchtures in the hide though. She looks all cute in the pic. Which she is! But she is a hunting fool! Nice house dog too, doesn't yap all day=so nice!
    Attached Images Attached Images

Nicely done, man!

Default You were due