Thread: Custom build: What's the process?

Default Custom build: What's the process?

I am new to the rifle building world. I grew up with a Rem Mod 700 chambered in .284 (7mm Rem Mag). My dad (an x-marine sniper) said it was the "only" rifle I'd ever need. Growing up on his wisdom and watching him nail elk/deer/moose/bear over 700 yds (consistently I might add) proved to me his concept. This is where my story twists...

When I moved up here 4+ years ago, I still had my 7mm. Something convinced me to purchase a Kimber Montana in .325 WMS, so I sold my customized 7mm. The action was squared & true, balanced & blueprinted by Darrell Holland of Holland Guns in Powers Oregon. I also had his glass stock with an agressive comb. I installed a timney trigger set at 2.5lbs, had a Zeiss Conquest 4.5x14x44 for optics, talley rings/bases, titanium firing pin, HD recoil lug, Holland muzzle break, jeweled bolt and a bunch more little things. Man, I miss that rifle!

To make things worse, I rolled my quad and the Kimber went along with it. I shot it and it was 2' low & 2' to the right. I have yet to make the necessary re-sighting to try again.

Here's my dilemma. I'd like to purchase a custom rifle, but don't exactly know the process/proceedures. I want a 700 action, but I am torn with the mod 70 as it is controlled push/feed. I like the Sako 85 with its 3 lug bolt, but want a #5 barrel.

Weight is of concern, after all, I love the high country and sheep hunting is top priority. Factoring in all my concerns where do you suggest I start?
    Not that price is an option, I do have 3 mouths to feed, so it does factor in...
    Respect what you do not own but are privleged to enjoy, Mother Earth thanks you...

Default Custom Rifle

If weight is paramount in a rifle build start with a short action. A Dakota action will give you the best of all worlds, CRF, the locking lugs, 98 style action.