Thread: AR-15 newbie questions

Default AR-15 newbie questions

First off, I am enjoying reading these forums. Thanks for all the interesting and informative posts.

I am new to the whole AR-15 thing (and guns in general) and have a couple of questions about the upper receiver.

I have a DPMS Sportical (16" barrel, 5.56). The upper is described as 'Flattop Lo-Pro' and has no dust cover and no brass deflector and no forward assist.

I'd like the opinions of someone with more experience as to the pros and cons of these features. I have only shot it once so far and noted that the ejected brass does leave a mark on the receiver, which cleans right off fortunately. Beyond the looks, how important are these features?

I also have a DPMS Bull 20 (20" barrel, .223), which as an A3 flatop upper. I am thinking I'll keep one of these two, perhaps mixing and matching the parts I like.

Any advise is welcome! Thanks.

I don't think that the forward assist or deflector are very important at all. In most cases using the forward assist to ram a stuck round into full battery is a very bad idea. It is both quicker and safer to perform a standard malfunction clearance and get a fresh round in the rifle. The deflector is a convenience item, and therefore not an issue for me. I do like having the dust cover on my AR's though. I would recommend that you keep the 16" barrel and get rid of the bull barrel. You gain no real benefits from the larger barrel, and you get the added weight with it.

Jeremiah

Quote Originally Posted by jeremiahak View Post