Thread: Milling tongue and groove

Default Milling tongue and groove

I've seen a few posts where folks mentioned making their own T&G lumber for flooring or ceilings (in the field, I think)...but no mention of how they did this.

After chainsaw milling boards, would that be the use of a regular router run off a generator for T&G?

Jagfish, It sounds like a fable to me. I suppose it could be done but I doubt it would be of any decent quality. 1 1/2" T&G would be nearly impossible with a router. I looked for the heads once and couldn't even find them. I did find some for 1/2 to 1 1/4 but the lumber still needs to be very consistant width and straight and dry, none of which is typical of backwoods chainsaw mill production. (not to mention planed)

Interesting...that's what I thought...

I'd imagine it would be more realistic to fashion some sort of a simple lap joint. On the flat side, that could be done easily with a circular saw to 1/2 depth, but on the sides??? I have no experience...

I'd imagine with green cut wood, you'd need some kind of overlap system or the shrinkage could leave some serious gaps.

I have sawn subfloor from local trees but I didn't try to lap or T&G it because of shrinkage. Beetle kill doesnt make great logs for sawing because of twist and checking. Lumber from green spruce is easier but because of the twisted grain it tends to warp like hell as it dries if it isnt stacked ,stickered and covered so I nail it down green. I have some 1x on some walls that I nailed up green and it shrunk 1/2 inch in the width. You could T&G spruce if it's put up and dried. Over all I decided that it's cheaper to buy T&G than it was to mill it, dry it, size it, plane it and shape it.

A friend was going to do that at his cabin but after chainsaw milling boards for other uses he's rethinking that idea. Time consuming and loud.