Thread: New to ice fishing and need advise.

Question New to ice fishing and need advise.

Hello All,

I am new to Ice Fishing and need any and all advise I can get. I plan on trying it out Wednesday for the first time on Quartz Lake north of Delta Junction, AK. Any help on what to do, how to set up, what equipment to have, would really help.

Highest Regards.
    Mark

Smile Basics

You will need an auger- if you go hand auger get a 6" with an extension. Get a small rod with a decent reel and some flexible mono. Depending on what you are fishing for, 12 pound should more than do it. Get a variety of spoons and spinners- Swedish Pimples and Cast Masters work well. Get a couple small bottles of Pautzkis (sp) Balls of Fire eggs, and some small uncooked shrimp are always good to have along too.

Beyond basics:
    If you are an airline pilot, as your handle suggests ($$$$$), go ahead and get yourself a folding ice tent ($200), and a nice 10" power auger ($250). I favor Eskimo, but others would differ with me. A few tip-ups would be nice for lake trout and large char. Heck, throw in a new snowmachine for good measure to tow it all!

There are some really serious icefishermen up your way, and they are probably best contacted through IceShanty.com . They can get you lined out on all the local lore. Another resource is "The Highway Angler- Ice Fisherman" by Gunnar Pedersen. Everything you need to know is there.

If you are looking for a simple intorductory setup I would start with these items

Auger: A gas auger is much more convienant but cumbersome. I love my inexpensive hand auger because is acceptable for one or two holes, but it takes time and plenty of energy. Once the blades are dull it is a bear to punch holes in the ice.

5 Gal. Bucket: You need something to carry the gear if you choose to go sledless.