Thread: Garmin or Raymarine

Default Garmin or Raymarine

My GPS Sonar experience is limited to Eagle, Lowrance, and Humminbird.
    I'm comparing Garmin 4208 and Raymarine E80. They fit nicely in the space alloted
    A few things I want with the upgrade are
    1) Second monitor to be a repeater of the first monitor with GPS and Sonar, no more 2 transducers or 2 GPS antennas.
    2) Excellent Sonar, been reading about the airmar 1kw thru hull
    3) Ability to network add ons in the future like Radar, XM Weather, Autopilot, DSC
    Question is, what am I not seeing in the brochures or thinking about?

I've been using Raymarine e-120 and e-80 for 3 years and have been satisfied. All of the features you mention is what I got going on. I Use a b260 transducer the Vhf dsc to link with other boats in our fleet and have nmea 2000 interfaces with the Volvo d-6.. I would rely on the Raymarine unit . A single screen Raymarine will do everything you want. also Raymarine has up to date software and is keeping up with charts and new technoligies which have been intergrated with the e series units. I'd recomend sticking with Raymarine.

I have been running a new 4208 Garmin this summer & my only complaint is that the screen is too small. I wasn't sure if the 4210 would fit in my SeaRunner so I went with the 4208 The 4208 is networkable in all of the ways that you want, but the dsc does not require anything other than connecting 4 wires from the gps harness to your vhf so that they can communicate with each other. Garmin has a recall out on the G2 vision card that goes with the 4208 & they say that they are supposed to have new ones available soon...... just don't try to navigate with the sonar is their official warning The install will take you the better part of a lazy Saturday for the 4208, gps antenna, sounder module & transom mtd. transducer. If you keep your old units you may be able to wire them up to the new network for backup.