Thread: Take a kid hunting

Default Take a kid hunting

Well it actually isnt taking a kid but he is my nefew and a kid im my eyes. I have been takeing him with me for the last 10 years sence his dad who was my hunting partner for over 20 years passed away. He comes up from Anchorage every year but just has 2 or 3 days to hunt every time. This year we planned to get out of town for the 3 days and see what happens. I have a freind with a cabin about 20 miles from Manley who invited us to stay there. Durring the 150 mile drive i kept telling him, we are hunting on a river, dont shoot a moose in the water. Wait till they get to the bank and drop them, he assured me he was ok with that and wouldnt get excited about seeing a bull moose and shoot too quickly. On our arrival it was 75 degrees and beautiful out, so around 2 in the afternoon we decided to go fishing for pike until it cooled down. After only going 3 miles we round a corner and a paddle bull is standing in the river. My rifle is in the gun rack behind me and his is in the gun case besides beside him. Needless to say the moose is just getting bigger for next year. We decide to come back the next morning and sit for the day. After staying the night at the cabin, we get up and take the boat to the beach where we had seen the paddle bull the day before. I set him up in a chair behind a tree that had a great view of the river and beyond. I drifted 2 corners down to watch another strech of river and set the anchor. After getting comfortable and getting my book out, I hear a shot. Waited for about 5 mins for a follow up shot i ran up river to see what was going on. I found my nefew on the beach jumping up and down and figured he shot the paddle bull. I asked him where the moose was and he said " In the river". I said WHAT? He explained that he just had to have this moose and didnt want it to get away.Well the moose was in the river and the wait for him to get one was over. Who could get mad at that? After using a rop