Thread: Structural Insulated Panels - SIPs

Default Structural Insulated Panels - SIPs

I did a search on the above topic and assumed I'd find lots of reading about their use for remote cabins (where these panels could be transported, anyway)

I thought they'd be the best combination of an efficient construction material for this purpose (with great insulation), but I've not found anything in the search yet.

I'd have thought a sturdy timber or lumber frame with these panels on the outside would be pretty slick...

Am I searching the wrong wording, or is there a reason why these panels are impractical/undesirable/unavailable in remote locations?

Cheers
    Jim

Try this Jim. www.pbssips.com

Not sure if this is what you are looking for or not.

I believe that Uresco, and Spenards deal with these products here in Alaska.

Default SIPs in the backcountry

Jim,

Yes SIPs are an excellent building method for speed and super insulation. I work as a manufacturers rep. for Extreme Panel Technologies in MN. We specailize in custom building packages that are all pre-cut and ready to assemble. We have even sent panels to Alaska. The challenge of a back country cabin is just that... It's in the back country. If the site is hard to get to that means that getting the panels and supplies to the site would be the hardest part. When we ship panels over seas (mainly to Japan) we use the large steel shipping containers. This is how a cabin package would be delivered to Alaska as well. If the site has a road that a semi could get access then delivery wouldn't be a problem. but chances are that is not the case. That would mean that the panels would have to be unloaded and brought to the site in smaller loads, not a huge problem just not ideal. I have been working on some simple cabin packages that would work great for what you are discribing. I've even talked to a solar panel supplier to size an array that would make them off grid and self suffiecent. If you are ineterested in the pan