Thread: Newbie here, interested in shotgun muzzle loader

Default Newbie here, interested in shotgun muzzle loader

Hey, I would like to try some shotgunning mostly for ducks with a black powder muzzle loader. Does anybody have any experience with shotguns? Any shotguns for sale? Looking at the doubles that Cabelas has for sale, have seen them in the stores also when down south, but hesitant to buy one just to experiment with, would like to try it first or at least talk with somebody knowledgeable. Feel free to call or post reply. Bud 240 4090

I use to own a Cabelas side by side 12 gauge, they are a pretty fun gun to take out after small game. I sold that gun to rimfirematt, so maybe he'll chime in as he's pretty knowledgable on bp shotguns.

Two items to consider. If you're going to use the shotgun for waterfowl, get a chrome lined barrel so you can shoot steel shot. Some of the older bp shotgun barrels can not shot steel. Other consideration, interchangeable chokes are great if you can get a barrel that'll accept them.

I'm not sure what you want to know. like shearej said getting one with a chrome lined barrel or one that is approved for steel shot is your main consideration. The pedersoli/cabelas line up fits the bill. I believe the Navy arms guns too.

Where/how you hunt waterfowl will be a bigger factor with a muzzleloading shotgun. By that I mean, you need a good solid place to stand. Forget about standing in the muck. There is alot going on kinda when it comes to the shotgun. You have wads, paper discs, powder, shot and caps to contend with. All of wich is water sensitive. Also to keep these items organized means wearing alot of stuff, powder horn, shot flask (they arent cheap) powder measure, possibles bag.