Thread: '98 Polaris SKS 700 Question

Default '98 Polaris SKS 700 Question

I've got a couple of questions for the forum concerning said machine. Someone gave me this machine and it seems to be in great shape, except for the fact that the oil injector quit on him and he locked up the engine. The engine is toast and he actually sold/traded a few parts off the old engine. My question revolves around is it worth fixing this thing or should I junk it and find a machine that already runs. I've no experience with snow machines, but I have a background in engines and mechanic work. When he offered the machine it sounded like a project I could tackle and finish and thought this forum would be a good place to start. What do you guys think? Thanks for your advice.

Remove the engine and strip it down, find out why the oil injection pump quit, if it did, they are virtually bomb-proof, but anything can happen. At the most, you'll find the pistons seized to the cylinders which can be fixed with a piston kit and some hydrochloric acid to clean the aluminum off the nica-sil.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

Quote Originally Posted by Nitroman View Post
    Remove the engine and strip it down, find out why the oil injection pump quit, if it did, they are virtually bomb-proof, but anything can happen. At the most, you'll find the pistons seized to the cylinders which can be fixed with a piston kit and some hydrochloric acid to clean the aluminum off the nica-sil.
    I'll check that out Nitroman, thanks.

I'm not 100% but I believe the water pump belt also drives the oil injection pump. I would replace that belt no matter what.