Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Moose hunting Hatcher Pass

Default Moose hunting Hatcher Pass

Spent the weekend with a friend trying to find him a legal moose, between the umpteen million hunters and biting bugs, we managed to find a few bulls worthy of a closer look. We rode down to a spot I have been hunting since about 2001 and there was nobody there, which I thought was odd.

Spotted a smallish bull almost right away but he was not legal, then a cow and calf a few minutes later. While glassing a distant hillside I happened to spot what looked like a large bull with 3-4 cows. We were short on time and the weather was turning bad so we didn't pursue them and instead went back to the camper. Sure was nice to have his camper along to get in out of the cold and rain and enjoy a cold beverage and some dinner.

Next day found us back on top and in a different glassing location. Took about 5 minutes and we spotted the big bull again only this time he was by himself. So we packed things up and headed to his locale. It took about an hour on the wheeler to get to where we thought he might be and walked down the hill. Tried calling and raking along with a few cow calls but he was unrepsonsive, probably due to him having some cows with him the day before is what we figured, though we did manage to call in 3 hunters. Stayed at it for another 4-5 hours then finally decided to bag it thinking he may have cleared out for safer country. Went back to the camper and had a killer fire and some fresh moose tenderloins, Stove Top and biscuits for dinner.