Thread: Long Range shooting

Default Long Range shooting

MY question is: For long Range shooting (500-750 yards) would you go with short or long action? Is there an advantage of one over the other, I'm still learning this stuff but i would like to tinker around and work up some loads.

My next question: Also for long range shooting, of the three types of bullets, which would you prefer? Barnes, Berger, or Sierra Game Kings?

Quote Originally Posted by kahahawai View Post
    My next question: Also for long range shooting, of the three types of bullets, which would you prefer? Barnes, Berger, or Sierra Game Kings?

Whatever shoots best

Quote Originally Posted by Wildalaska View Post
    Whatever shoots best

I shot barnes and Sierra Game kings, but not the Berger, just thought they might be better bullets considering all the hype on them.

Targets or animals? If it was anything bigger than a wolf I wouldn't bother with Bergers.

Most of the long range rounds that are popular now will fit in a short action. There is a thought that short actions are stiffer, but there are still a bunch of really accurate rifles built on long actions.
    Bunny Boots and Bearcats: Utility Sled Mayhem

The guys from Gunwerks and Best of the West make there living on long range shooting (out to 900 yards on big game and even further) and one of there favorite rounds is the 6.5-284 with a 140 berger...

....I have seen them on film harvest elk, bear, and sheep out to 940 yards with this round.
    375 Ruger Hawkeye...Mice to Moose, Impala to Buffalo....1 GUN.....WORLDS PURSUIT

Default I like the Bergers