Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wolverine Hunting

Default Wolverine Hunting

I am new to Alaska and Alaska predator hunting. I would appreciate some information on how to get started. A wolverine is at the top of my list. Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks,
    I should mention I live in Fairbanks and would prefer to hunt or shoot, not trap predators.

It's not too difficult to take predators in AK, i.e., coyotes, wolves, foxes, etc., but wolverines are are too scarce to plan on hunting (shooting) with regular success. The population densities are so low that even a hunter who gets out in the field for good chunks of time every year may only see a handful of wolverines in a lifetime. I've been here over 40 years and have only seen a few. There are just not not enough of them and I haven't heard of them coming into a caller. Good luck.

In all my time running around the woods of Alaska, I have only seen 2 wolverines. I have come across tracks from time to time. One I was lucky enough to be able to shoot, but I would say that it was just that, LUCK. I ran a trapline with my dad when i was a kid, and had a few sets destroyed by one, but we never caught up to him. You are going to be spending a lot of time in the woods for that conquest, which actually doesn't sound too bad.........
    The Second Amendment.......Know it, love it, support it.

Thumbs up

Try to find you a winter kill moose and sit on it. The odds are still slim but it could be worth the wait, a targeted wolverine would be a great of a trophy.
    Chuck

Thanks for the responses. Over the next three to four years I hope to get enough time in the woods to bag my prize.