Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 223 vs 5.56

Question 223 vs 5.56

Im picking my dpms panther bull on friday that ive been paying on for the last 4 months. But now Im wondering. Its a .223 rem cal. not the 5.56 I read that the 5.56 can take the 223 but not vice versa. Also can I expect the same price and availability as the 5.56. Would I be better off changing my mind and going with a 5.56 rifle? Its still not to late for me to change my mind at the gunshop.

If you want to be able to shoot both, then yes get the 5.56.

the other option if you want to take matters into your own hands is to buy a 5.56 complete upper
    Surviving one day at a time with a PhD in Physics.

Default vs

Whats the difference between the two? Im sure im going to change my mind now and get the more universal caliber. Bear with me ive never owned or shot an AR before. Im only buying it as defense item. Im a hunter at heart but for some reason I think I should have one.

5.56 Nato has a maximum case pressure rated at ~63,400psi, while .223 Rem has a max case pressure at 55,000psi. The idea is that since 5.56 Nato has a higher pressure it should not be chambered in barrels rated for .223 rem. I am by no means an expert, but this is the argument I've heard time and again (I personally do not own either upper for my AR15 and that should be taken into effect; I only have a bohica arms .50 bmg upper).
    Surviving one day at a time with a PhD in Physics.

Thumbs up Good Point

Suggest Buy uppers marked 5.56 and 1:9 to 1:7 twist for best results with 63gr bullets and heavier.

Also take a good look at the 6.8 SPC upper.....good hunting round

As for AR uppers the Stag is my favorite! They make the S&W MP15.