Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Marten cubby question

Default Marten cubby question

I am new to Marten trapping and wanted to post a pic of my cubby set and hope some of you experienced guys will offer you opinions on what I am doing right and wrong. I made a cubby set approx. 50 yards from a pole set and found it broken apart with the duck carcass missing and the 110 connibear went off but there was nothing in it. I think my mistake was in not covering the cubby enough so as to make only one clear entrance and it just pushed my sticks aside and ran off with the duck. I have now added another duck, sable oil for a lure, a number one foothold on the inside and piled on more sticks to make a more definitive entrance where my 110 is located. Does this sound right? Where can I improve? Any advice would be appreciated, thanks in advance!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails marten trapping (5).jpg  

Default hmmmm

With a cubby like that it could have been a lynx or wolverine that destroyed your cubby as well. A stick could have set your trap off when they went for the cubby. Have you tried making a set with a flowerpot or newspaper box? You can also use a regular pole set with a #1longspring trap at the end.

The other downfall with a trap on the ground like that is you are most likely going to loose your marten to voles or other critters if you don't check everyday.

Default marten cubby