Thread: Griz Meat?

Default Griz Meat?

OK here is the quetion. Is Griz meat worth the effort? I am new to Alaska hunting and have never taken a bear. I saw 2 griz on a hillside last weekend but just watched them through a spotting scope. I have purchased a tag and if given the chance, will take one this weekend.

I just want to know if I should salvage the meat or not. I have eaten every kind of wild game from squirle to black bear to moose and enjoy it over anything that comes wrapped in plastic from the store.

Please let me know your thoughts. Thanks.

Only had meat off of one & it was a spring bear, but it was as good as black bear.
    Vance in AK.

Matthew 6:33
    "But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you."

When you open him up, you will know. If he smells like fish or some other stench, the meat is probably inedible. If he has a mild to no odor, then chow down. Berry fed Griz is reported to be prime eating.

Default Some yes, some no

Sometimes grizzly meat is edible, and sometimes it isn't. It depends on what the bear has been eating. As was said, if it's a bear that's been feeding on salmon or carrion of some kind, you can probably forget it. If he's spent all his time in the berry patches, it might be worth a try.

If there's no obvious issue with it in the field, haul it home and give it a try. If you discover that it is not edible, you can always donate it to the zoo, if you are in the Anchorage area.

-Mike
    LOST CREEK COMPANY: Specializing in Alaska hunt consultation and planning for do-it-yourself hunts, fully outfitted hunts, and guided hunts.
    CLICK HERE to send me a private message.
    Web Address: http://alaskaoutdoorssupersite.com/hunt-planner/
    Mob: 1 (907) 229-4501
    "Dream big, and dare to fail." -Norman Vaughan
    "I have climbed my mountain, but I must still live my life." - Tenzig Norgay

Quote Originally Posted by borderblue1 View Post