Thread: What GPS should I get?

Default What GPS should I get?

I want to get a GPS; it will mainly be used for hunting, although I do a little hiking and boating too. Nothing fancy, just something to use and break myself into GPS navigation. I'm thinking I'd like to spend between $100-$150. Any suggestions of brands/models available?

Tim

I use the Rhino 120, very easy to use, and built in 2 way radio. I know they go new for $300, but you might be able to find one on E-bay or somewhere!

Default eTrex

I'd just get an eTrex. It doesn't have many fancy features, but points to lat and long, and spits out lat and long. The batteries last a long time, which I think is a plus.

Thumbs up garmin

in that price range, another vote for the garmin etrex

Thumbs up Garmin

I'm no expert, but as far as ease of use and the necessary capabilities is concerned, I think it is hard to beat the Garmin eTrex. I thought there was a rebate deal going on right now somewhere, can't remember what store or the amount though.

The eTrex Legend offers 1,000 waypoints, 160 x 288 pixel display, 18-hour battery life, detailed basemap, 8 MB for optional map. This is very basic and allows for land and marine options. It has served my brother very well for about 4? years now. He uses it for hunting, fishing and mapping.

I tend to do more traveling and spend more time outdoors so I opt for the color display (makes an amazing difference) and more memory.

I have heard and read that the rhino models don't pick signals up as well as the basic eTrex models, but I have no experience with them.

Here is a link to Garmin's site:
    http://www.garmin.com/

Good Luck

Default Ditto for the Garmin eTrex Legend