Thread: Aire super Lynx arrived

Default Aire super Lynx arrived

I had done as much homework from the keyboard as possible and finally settled on an AIRE Super Lynx for my limited kayaking needs (flat water capable only, tandem, stow able in an RV).

When I decided to get the AIRE I called the factory and mentioned a few comments on various forums about them being very good boats but lacking in tracking. One of the guys at AIRE suggested I put the removable keel from the Sawtooth kayak on the LYNX. Sounded good to me.

They had to build the boat for me from scratch to add the keel mount (took a few weeks but was it ever worth it). They could have glued the mount on but welded sounded better. That little keel makes a huge difference in the way this boat paddles. Understand we are total novices but we where able to hop in the Lynx on a very windy day and had no issues circumnavigating the lake (about 5 miles) on our first try.

For fun I took the keel off and tried again. Was I ever in for a surprise. This is where the difference between a veteran and novice paddler would really show up. We must have paddled a mile and not covered 100 yds. As soon as I stopped paddling, the thing would do an instant 180 away from the wind. It didn't take too long for me to decide that the keel is WAY cool for a novice on a Lynx.. I glides in a very straight path with the keel. Only issue with the keel was it did hook some weeds when we tried backing out of a shallow cove. Keel shape could probably be improved.

The Lynx looks to be built a lot better than I expected. It does self bail but that also means that anything on the bottom gets wet (including MY bottom). My shirt I had thrown in the back was soaked, my wallet, keys and such (in a failed zip lock) stored behind the seat where soaked, my lunch bag leaked and most of the stuff in there was soaked.. Water intrusion is an issue but it makes it pretty hard to swamp. The drain holes are pretty BIG and there are 6 of them..