Thread: Floss, Whats it used for in fly tying?

Default Floss, Whats it used for in fly tying?

I searched high and low and cant find a fly with a floss body. I bought a ton of it thinking i could use it on my Sockeye fly bodies. What can you tell me about the use of floss? Any pics of flies with a floss body? As you can tell i am new at this!

kgpcr,
    Google, Royal Coachman, Royal Wulff, Freight Train, Green butt skunk. The Green butt skunk will probably call for chenille but I think traditionally it was silk or floss.

For sockeye you could do a body of red floss and a tinsel rib with a over wing of read crystal flash.

George

yup, mostly steelhead/salmon patterns...I will add a caddis nymph and my lil harding special are floss bodies.

You can also use it for wings (to add some color), or tails.

For the caddis nymph...tie it on..twist it up, then wrap it on a scud hook..finish with a turn or two of dark(er) to dark dubbing with or without a beadhead...deadly on grayling and trout! You can do this for any segmented fly, in place of chenille or dubbing to still get your color yet add less bulk.

My lil harding special..well you'll never get that recipe out of me LOL! but for what it's worth it's not to terribly different then the caddis pupea....atleast color wise

For the steelhead/salmon flies, they were typically a tag...starting with flat tinsel, then a tag of floss/silk, then the body depending on the fly. Some flies were complete floss bodies, most were some kind of segmented body showing off the tiers skill. They are definatly purdy flies! Look for John Sheweys books on steelhead flies...you'll get a bunch of different fly patterns to look at....or any of the classic atlantic salmon flies you'll understand what I'm saying.

You could use it for building the body on a partridge and orange, or red, or green.

I usually tie the body with thread, but if you want to use your floss, it's an option, and a good pattern.

Default Floss and soft hackle...