Thread: New Canon EOS 7D versus 5D Mark II

Default New Canon EOS 7D versus 5D Mark II

OK...after much research, I was sold on the Canon 5D Mark II as THE camera I wanted prior to moving to Alaska. With L-series lenses, the pics it takes are stunning. 21 MP and HD video to boot.

Then...along comes the Canon 7D. Only 18 MP, but 8 fps versus 3.9 for the 5D Mark II. Both have HD video and lots of other options. Big difference is that the 7D is almost $1000 cheaper.

So, what's the opinions of the pro's here. The 8 frames per second burst appeals to me for action shots. I am leary because I've seen pics from the 50D (a medium price camera), many of which I thought were blurry and out of focus. Like I said, I'm sold on the 5d Mark II, just thinking about the 7D. Haven't seen any real world shots, yet.

Thoughts.

Default Canon Sugar Plums

Hey Rick,

I am not a pro but...........No doubt the 5D Mark II is a great camera, as (hopefully) the 7D will be. I have been thinking about purchasing the 7D to compliment my 50D (which, along with my L series lenses, I have been very happy with). Some of my reasons to buy the 7D include the fairly fast fps capability, the movie capture feature (yesterday I could have captured a bull Moose ripping an Alder apart), the focus tracking, and the improved weather protection. I plan on sticking to the small sensor format just for the extra push one gets on their lenses (I like that extra reach as I prefer to photograph wildlife). But there are many more people out there who know more about cameras than I do. You might have a look at photo.net There has been quite a bit of banter going back and forth on their forums about this very subject. You might gain a bit more insight there.

Tracey

Tracey, thanks for the reply. I've also seen lots of banter going back and forth about the 7D. More or less, though, there aren't many real world images out there yet for comparison.