Thread: Total Newbie - Questions!

Default Total Newbie - Questions!

First off let me explain something: I moved from Texas to Alaska this past Febuary and originally planned on leaving by October before I froze my behind off! Now I've postponed my plans for at least another year or two (yeah, I know this state grows on ya!).

I didn't see a FAQ on this forum, for newbies like me who want a quick learning curve on riding in this state.

I'm eye-balling Craigslist and Alaskaslist at the 1200-1500 dollar machines, with around 3,000 miles (and under).

I take it that over 4k miles a machine has some serious wear and tear, depending if it was ridden hard or not?

How would I go about visually inspecting one before purchase?

Do I need to register it? If so what are the costs?

Is there a minimal amount of snow on the ground one must meet before riding upon it, per city rules?

Can I cross traffic in it as a "pedestrian," legally without fearing looking like a "weirdo" out in the middle of traffic? (Yes, I know of the 4 wheeler paths alongside the road but some are so deep and dilapidated it could ruin one if not crept over.)

I'd like to use one for mostly ice-fishing Wasilla Lake and maybe for cruising the Little Su. Or, perhaps, just getting out of the house to take great pictures of the Alaskan winter snowfalls for family back in the lower 48.

What kind of fuel does it use? Gas? Two cycle oil?

Mind ya, I worked for years as a backyard mechanic and know cars very well, as I repaired, rebuilt and repainted dozens of 'em for resale. So I guess you can say I'm mechanically inclined. And as such (being mechanically inclined) I don't want to spend more than 1500 on my first machine when learning the ins-and-outs of 'em.

Quote Originally Posted by Crab_n_fish View Post

I'm eye-balling Craigslist and Alaskaslist at the 1200-1500 dollar machines, with around 3,000 miles (and under).