Thread: hunting buddy shoot?

Default hunting buddy shoot?

my friend from downstates is coming up to visit and at the same time, im going out moose hunting, i am an alaskan resident and his out of state of course, he wants to be able to shoot my moose for me (he will be by my side at all times)

what is the legality of this? is he able to shoot my moose for me as long as i tag it and am properly licensed?

To hear tell on this forum you would think it was standard practice. Maybe you shoot it in the foot, and a split second later your buddy nails it solid, the story you tell is it was going to kill you both and eat you both. Seems there a lot of hunters who think as long as someone has a unfilled tag, it is OK for anyone to fill it.

No...what you are wanting to do is 100% illegal.

Quote Originally Posted by LetsflyAK View Post
    my friend from downstates is coming up to visit and at the same time, im going out moose hunting, i am an alaskan resident and his out of state of course, he wants to be able to shoot my moose for me (he will be by my side at all times)

what is the legality of this? is he able to shoot my moose for me as long as i tag it and am properly licensed?
    YOU HAD BETTER READ THE REGS.
    If you don't - you and your "buddy" will well deserve whatever to court decides.
    Joe (Ak)

ok thanks for the info just wanted to double check

Essentially; your buddy is hunting then and needs tags, etc.. I would think troopers may have issue with him even carrying a firearm while you are hunting and he has no license.
    However; I do hear some talk about folks filling tags for other family members; always wondered if that was legit..???

NONONONONO it is against the the LAW