Thread: RV Friendly Riding Areas

Default RV Friendly Riding Areas

We're looking to get out and enjoy the Labor Day weekend and do some riding. Any suggestions on riding areas with a good spot to park a 38ft 5th Wheel and a couple of trucks?

We were thinking about Eureka, Petersville or somewhere around Cantwell, but I'm open to other suggestions as well. I'm still new to the ATV scene so I haven't had a chance to nail down all the prime areas yet. There is a chance we will have some little ones riding passenger so areas with mild to moderate terrain would be the best.

Thanks in advance.

Those two areas are the prime spots for you. Pick one of them and you will have a great time.

Eureka is a primo area, lots of space for a rig like that, lots of trails. Just don't forget to get a slice of pie at the roadhouse.
    We do not go to the green woods and crystal waters to rough it, we go to smooth it. We get it rough enough at home; in towns and cities; in shops, offices, stores, banks anywhere that we may be placed

Knik River--just south of the bridge, large gravel bar, and access to Jim Creek trail system. (about 40 miles from Anchorage)

Sutton/Jonesville--wide open camping area in old mine pit, plenty of wooded trails and good areas for kids to ride. (about 60 miles from Anchorage)

Kings River--great shoreline camping, trails are a little more technical. Camping spaces are limited--given your large rig, I wouldn't try this one unless you can get there early. (about 65 miles from Anchorage)

Eureka--as others have said, very large camping areas, wide variety of trails above tree line. (about 135 miles from Anchorage)

Hatchers Pass (Willow side). About 15 or so miles from the Parks Hwy, several large gravel pits/pullouts. (about 100 miles from Anchorage). I wouldn't try taking a large 5th wheel up over the pass from the Palmer/Wasilla side!